Post

2 followers Follow
0
Avatar

Why limit mission altitude to 300 m at most?

Hello!

I am Map Pilot Business edition user. Overall very happy with app.

However disappointed to see upper Altitude limit to be set at 300 m by developer.

Instead of 500 m altitude limit by DJI SDK. 

Litchi and many other flight planners allow 500 m altitude limit... 

Is it possible to raise altitude limit to 500 m originally set by DJI? 

Please.

Such high altitude flights can be done quite legally in my home country (Russia) through special arrangements with local authorities.

Vladimir Sviridov

Official comment

Avatar

This will be available in our next version but in general that is higher than you are allowed to fly in most places. 

Zane
Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.

9 comments

0
Avatar

Zane, new version - 4.1.16 (March 12, 2021) still has 300 m limit...

Vladimir Sviridov 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink
0
Avatar

It is available in Map Pilot Pro as long as you have a Maps Made Easy Pro-level subscription. 

Zane 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink
0
Avatar

Well, this is a clever way to promote a new software product.
However in many countries uploading drone images to other country servers is not allowed (important fact but often overlooked by developers). So, no way I can use Map Pilot Pro. Wish you sold as offline solution as well.
Why not add 500 m option to Map Pilot Business? As additionak paid feature? Otherwise you unreasonably limit you customers to lower functionality  unlike your competitors.
Overall, I really like Map Pilot Business - very good product.

Vladimir Sviridov 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink
0
Avatar

Thank you for the compliment. The bad news is Map Pilot Business is no longer maintained and will cease to function by the end of the year.  

https://support.dronesmadeeasy.com/hc/en-us/articles/360057862352

Our main business is the processing of imagery. The only reason we created Map Pilot to begin with was to enable our customers to collect data for us to process. We are just attempting to refocus our efforts on our customers. I am fairly certain we are a fraction of the cost of anyone who could be considered a competitor and at that price we can't afford to support users who are not paying customers.

Non-mapping users are more than welcome to use our app for free but to get access to the advanced features (many of which have been added by custom request, like here) they need to be a mapping customer. I am fairly certain we are a fraction of the cost of any other service/app who could be considered a competitor.

You don't have to use the processing to use the app, you just have to have the subscription. Some people subscribe for the processing, some people subscribe for the app but our main customers subscribe for both. 

https://www.mapsmadeeasy.com/pricing

 

Zane 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink
0
Avatar

Zane, thank you for your detailed explanation.

Cloning DroneDeploy or DroneHarmony marketing may seem pretty attractive for some teams, but these sudden and unexpected changes may harm you customers trust in my opinion.

At https://support.dronesmadeeasy.com/hc/en-us/articles/360057862352 you mentioned:

"Being that we specifically added a feature based on your request, one would think you would be happy... For a well supported business tool to cost you less than $25/yr would be considered a good value by most."


At https://www.mapsmadeeasy.com/map_pilot/ I see no $25/yr.

Main Map Pilot Business functionality is available for $125/yr.

I bought Map Pilot Business for 70 bucks as permanent license 3 month ago. There were no any notification that this will app wil cease to function this year.
And now accidentally I find out that this app will expire December 2021. And to keep my work running I have to pay almost twice as much every year for same functionality.

To make things worse for me I already advertised  Map Pilot Business for several of my friends to buy. 

And I already told my boss to invest our staff training in Map Pilot Business laying out your attractive pricing for Map Pilot Business. I spend recent  month training by colleagues Map Pilot Business (they are biologists, so learning photogrammerty software is not easy for them). 
And now I have to tell my boss that company has to pay twice as much and it will be for 1 year, not permanent license to have the same funtionality. Or tell my colleagues that they have to learn other drone flying app.
Well, you sudden marketing policy changes may have caused problems not for me only. 

Vladimir Sviridov 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink
0
Avatar

That particular user used it for over 2 years which is where the $25/yr came from. He also made frequent feature requests and required a ton of support. (Purchase price is $50 US Dollars)

Not much changed for our actual mapping customers. They pay to create their maps and they get access to the app. No big change there. Honestly, we are not trying to keep the rest of the customers unless they are paying for all of the support and feature additions they seem to require on a regular basis.

We are allowing users to finish out the year on Map Pilot Business as long as some of the services we rely on are still available. That is a cheaper option for the year than switching to Map Pilot Pro. We understand businesses need continuity which is why we offered it to begin with and are allowing them to finish out this season with it. 

We had to cut things off somewhere. Yes, it is a shame that you are getting caught in the change but this is why we are offering a discount for Map Pilot Business users. We are sorry if you don't think that is fair. This is the problem with a permanent license: everyone gets upset when maintenance comes to an end. Are we to maintain it forever despite a contracting drone services market with dwindling sales? How are we supposed to continue development and offer new features with no new money coming in? With this new model all parties involved understand that it is at-will relationship. If you continue to pay, we will continue to add new features and aircraft support. 

The per device licensing is actually more permissive in the subscription system. The Pro subscription allows up to 7 devices. That assumes that more than one person is likely using it. Figuring on 2 devices per user you are saving money right there since it doesn't go by Apple ID. Unless you were planning on being sneaky and having 20 devices on the same login... That all goes without mentioning the increase in functionality. So really we don't think it is an unfair tradeoff. Yes, it is not an outright purchase but if you want it to be supported/updated/maintained the outright purchase model is not going to work. 

We made this change to continue being able to support the app for our customers. Without making this change it was faced with various software dead ends in it and would be left to rot and fall apart.

Between the savings for multiple devices and the MPB user discount it is likely nearly a wash for the first two/three years anyway... And none of your training would be wasted which, let's face it, is the only real cost we are talking about here. Arguing over $50-150 here or there is nothing when talking about sunk costs for training and testing. 

 

Zane 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink
0
Avatar

Well, Zane, there is a lot of logic in your words, I agree mostly.

Minor remarks:

1. "Arguing over $50-150 here or there is nothing when talking about sunk costs for training and testing." - well, since license is not permanent but annual nothing prevents developer from significant rise of subscription fee over time. 

2. In some countries it is VERY difficult to obtain government funding not for permanent license but for yearly subscription. In my case is very hard. And when this paperwork has to be done every year is is really challenging. 

Vladimir Sviridov 0 votes
Comment actions Permalink